COLLEGE COMPARISON

Arizona State University vs. University of Arizona: Which Fits You?

Do you want ASU’s campus-specific experience across metro Phoenix or an Arizona main-campus experience in Tucson?

Updated 2026-10-28 · Planning guidance, not a ranking or admissions prediction

The short answer

Lean toward ASU if a particular major at Tempe, Downtown Phoenix, Polytechnic or West Valley puts you in the academic and daily setting you want. Lean toward the University of Arizona if you want your main-campus experience in Tucson and prefer to investigate its research and Franke Honors routes there. At ASU, establish the campus of the degree before comparing housing, transport or honors; this page covers campus-based study rather than online degrees.

Prefer Arizona State University if…

  • You want ASU’s Downtown Phoenix setting for a field such as journalism or public service, or a specific degree at one of its other Phoenix-area campuses.
  • You have a Barrett offer and want honors courses, advising and a thesis experience at the campus of your major.
  • Your confirmed ASU merit offer works over the full degree after you check campus-specific amounts and renewal terms.

Prefer University of Arizona if…

  • You want to base your main-campus undergraduate life in Tucson.
  • You have a Franke Honors offer and want its faculty-guided thesis or capstone to be part of your degree.
  • You want to start a research search by identifying your interests and using Arizona’s researcher resources to find possible mentors.

If it is still close: If both offer your intended major, compare the actual campus, honors admission and renewable aid in your offers. A Phoenix-area campus you would rarely visit is not a substitute for evaluating the one you would attend.

Compare the differences that matter

ASU is a campus-specific choice

Where would classes, housing and activities actually be?

Arizona State University

ASU’s Phoenix-area locations include Tempe, Downtown Phoenix, Polytechnic and West Valley, with different program mixes. Intercampus shuttles connect them, but ASU warns that traffic can delay travel.

Sources: Locations and Maps | Arizona State University, Campus shuttles | Arizona State University

University of Arizona

The University of Arizona’s main-campus setting is Tucson. Its institutional about page identifies the Tucson location; this comparison does not substitute its online or other-location experiences for main-campus life.

Source: About the University

How to interpret this: At ASU, map the major’s campus, residence and any cross-campus activities before committing. At Arizona, map the Tucson places you would use. Neither a metro-area label nor a shuttle route tells you your own commute.

What this cannot establish: Program location and class schedules govern the actual trip. No commute-time, convenience or internship-access advantage is established here.

Barrett and Franke are additional choices

What would honors add to your major?

Arizona State University

Barrett complements a student’s ASU major through honors credits, advising, faculty mentorship and honors communities across the four Phoenix-area campuses. Its FAQ describes a separate honors experience rather than a replacement for the degree program.

Source: FAQs | Barrett, The Honors College | ASU

University of Arizona

Franke Honors students complete an honors thesis or capstone with faculty guidance. Projects can take forms including research, design or creative work, depending on the field.

Source: Honors Thesis | W.A Franke Honors College

How to interpret this: Ask each honors office how the thesis and honors courses fit the intended major. A confirmed offer and a feasible course plan are more useful than comparing honors names.

What this cannot establish: The thesis structures apply to honors students, not all undergraduates. Check admission, completion requirements, housing rules and additional charges separately.

Find a route beyond the honors label

How would you make the first connection to a project?

Arizona State University

ASU’s UResearch directory gathers research and internship programs by academic area and directs students to Handshake for individual opportunities. The list includes experiences beyond laboratory science.

Source: UResearch | University Provost | ASU

University of Arizona

Arizona’s First Steps guidance starts with identifying the questions and fields you want to explore, then narrowing possible faculty, projects and programs; its research resources link to the Arizona Researchers Database.

Source: First Steps | Undergraduate Research | University of Arizona

How to interpret this: Try the search with one real interest before choosing: identify a project, what preparation it needs and who accepts inquiries. The directory that produces an accessible starting point for you is more useful than a total research-volume claim.

What this cannot establish: A listed project or faculty profile does not guarantee an opening, funding, credit or a response from a mentor.

Compare the aid contract, not an advertised award

What must remain true for your scholarship to continue?

Arizona State University

ASU’s scholarship guide sets renewal and enrollment conditions for covered awards. It also says scholarship amounts can change with campus, program, residency or tuition classification, and these awards are not available to ASU Online students.

Source: Scholarship renewal guide | Tuition and Aid | ASU

University of Arizona

Arizona’s financial-aid FAQ directs students to scholarship terms for the specific award and the year it was first offered. Most listed merit tuition awards have credit-completion and GPA renewal conditions.

Source: Frequently Asked Questions | Office of Scholarships & Financial Aid

How to interpret this: Use the actual award letters to build a semester-by-semester plan, including honors charges and any campus change. Do not assume an initial merit offer is unconditional for four years.

What this cannot establish: Eligibility and renewal vary by award, cohort and student circumstances. No scholarship amount or individual net price is estimated here.

Why both colleges may belong on the same list

Published costs: scope and assumptions

These are published estimates before individual aid, not personal net prices. Compare the same period, expense categories, residency, cohort, credit load, and living arrangement. An academic year label alone does not establish the price period. Different scopes or missing information do not establish which school is cheaper.

Arizona State University

Academic year 2026-27 · period not specified · USD

$63,394 cost of attendance (period not specified; academic year 2026-27)

Cost of attendance estimate. Verified current source; approval of every price is not established.

  • Nonresident first-year undergraduate estimate using the highest possible college fee; residency and program costs differ.

Official cost source: Arizona State University (institution, retrieved 2026-09-18)

Published amounts and student categories

Recorded amounts

nonresident base tuition
$35,715
tuition surcharge
$350
technology fee
$200
college fees
$2,190
student fees
$807
housing and food
$18,819
books and supplies
$1,320
transportation
$1,650
personal
$2,343
cost of attendance
$63,394

Components and totals can overlap; do not add all rows. Component names and source caveats retain their own periods and assumptions.

University of Arizona

Academic year 2026-27 · period not specified · USD

resident on campus $37,270 cost of attendance / nonresident on campus $67,770 cost of attendance (period not specified; academic year 2026-27)

Published residency / student-cohort variants; see each scope below. Verified current source; approval of every price is not established.

  • Incoming first-year and transfer on-campus estimate; college fees and federal loan fees vary and are excluded.

Official cost source: University of Arizona (institution, retrieved 2026-09-18)

Published amounts and student categories

resident on campus

tuition and fees
$13,900
housing and food
$17,770
books and supplies
$600
transportation
$2,450
personal
$2,550
cost of attendance
$37,270

nonresident on campus

tuition and fees
$44,400
housing and food
$17,770
books and supplies
$600
transportation
$2,450
personal
$2,550
cost of attendance
$67,770

Components and totals can overlap; do not add all rows. Component names and source caveats retain their own periods and assumptions.

Historical net price and individual affordability

The retained ASU estimate is for nonresident first-year undergraduates and uses the highest possible college fee. Arizona retains resident and nonresident on-campus estimates for incoming first-year and transfer students, but excludes variable college and federal loan fees. A resident Arizona total cannot be compared with ASU’s nonresident total, and even the nonresident figures include different fees. The retained records do not explicitly establish a matching price period; the academic-year labels alone do not do so. Compare your actual aid offers over the same enrollment period and expense categories. Historical federal average net price describes a past aid cohort, not either institution’s published price or your personal net price.

Sources: Arizona State University published cost source, University of Arizona published cost source

Admissions context is not a prediction

Confirm your ASU campus and major, or Arizona’s main-campus program, in the admission offer. Barrett and Franke Honors participation must be checked separately. Scholarship eligibility is not evidence of university or honors admission, and a scholarship estimator is not an award letter.

Sources: Locations and Maps | Arizona State University, FAQs | Barrett, The Honors College | ASU, Honors Thesis | W.A Franke Honors College, Scholarship renewal guide | Tuition and Aid | ASU, Frequently Asked Questions | Office of Scholarships & Financial Aid

Questions still worth answering

Methodology and limitations

This comparison interprets official undergraduate program and student-experience information reviewed October 27, 2026. Its scope is the campuses and study modes stated above. Optional, selective and major-specific opportunities do not describe every student’s experience. The sources do not establish typical faculty contact, advising response times, internship placement or individual admissions outcomes. Preference guidance is Navastra interpretation. Published costs use the validated institutional baseline with its original source dates and limitations; historical federal average net price is a separate measure.

Read Navastra's methodology

Sources

  1. FAQs | Barrett, The Honors College | ASU - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  2. Locations and Maps | Arizona State University - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  3. UResearch | University Provost | ASU - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  4. Scholarship renewal guide | Tuition and Aid | ASU - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  5. Campus shuttles | Arizona State University - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  6. About the University - University of Arizona (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  7. Honors Thesis | W.A Franke Honors College - University of Arizona (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  8. First Steps | Undergraduate Research | University of Arizona - University of Arizona (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  9. Frequently Asked Questions | Office of Scholarships & Financial Aid - University of Arizona (official, retrieved 2026-10-27)
  10. Arizona State University published cost source - Arizona State University (official, retrieved 2026-09-18)
  11. University of Arizona published cost source - University of Arizona (official, retrieved 2026-09-18)

START WITH YOUR PREFERENCES

Decide which differences should matter most to you.

Discover your college preferences →